The history of AMBA, as submitted by Edna V. Latimer,

Executive Secretary AMBA (retired)


AMBA was incorporated in April, 1955 in Fulton County, Atlanta, GA.

The application for tax-exempt status from IRS for a 501(c)(6) was filed on May 28, 1976, by Alan Dailey (Treasurer,) Don Bailey, (President,) Ernest Tharpe, (Vice President) and Robert Hearn, (Secretary). Peter Banks and Stan McCalla were attorneys for the Atlanta Mortgage Bankers Association and served as the contact with the State and National governments.

The purpose for which the organization was formed was to sponsor monthly luncheon meetings and other activities for employees of member firms who are mortgage bankers and affiliated firms. Each member firm paid $25 annual dues in addition to luncheon and dinner fees for officers and employees.

Regular Members consisted of Mortgage Banking firms, originating and servicing loans for others.
Affiliate members consisted of any firm in business related to real estate financing.

When The state association, MBAG, was chartered in 1972, AMBA became a chapter of MBAG.  In 1979, under the presidency of Bob Hearn, my firm assumed full management of AMBA, with myself serving in the role of Executive Secretary.

It was a pleasure and privilege working with Atlanta Mortgage Bankers Association and the Mortgage Bankers of Georgia for 37 or so years.  I was a part of the organization of MBAG….not so with AMBA, so the first few years of AMBA is taken from the few records that were turned over when my firm was asked to assume management of AMBA along with MBAG. 

I have many happy memories of my association with AMBA, and count many as friends.

The earliest record of officers available is circa 1967:

1950   1955  
1951   1956  
1952   1957  
1953   1958  
1954   1959  


1960   1965  
1961   1966  
1962   1967 William Jernigan
1963   1968 Virgil J. Henderson
1964   1969 Phillip Barrett

If you have information that will help complete the record prior to 1967, please contact AMBA.

1970 Duke Akin 1975 Robert C. Jessup
1971 Thomas Bazzel 1976 Donald E. Bailey
1972 Bill Alexander 1977 Ernest Tharpe
1973 Royce F. West 1978 Alan Dailey
1974 Jack T. Yarborough 1979 Robert Hearn


1980 Floyd Rush 1985 Winston Brown
1981 Robert "Bob" KenKnight 1986 Bill Scott
1982 Robert W. Smith, Jr. 1987-88 Ron Blomberg
1983 Donnell Smith 1988-89 Larry Aronson
1984 Johnny Potter 1989-90 Debbie Gray


1990-91 Robert St. John 1995-96 George Malloy
1991-92 Beverly Barksdale 1996-97 Tommy Cruse
1992-93 Pat Anthony 1997-98 Alex Williams
1993-94 David Sims 1998-99 Julia Hiler-Barrette
1994-95 Bob Slocum 1999-2000 Leslie Kozicki


2000-01 Steve Sinclair 2005-06 Blaine Bailey
2001-02 Allen KenKnight 2006-07 Loretta Salzano
2002-03 Rick Floyd 2007-08 Derek Watkins
2003-04 Debbie Pennington 2008-09 Merry Coalson
2004-05 Jackie Dye 2009-10 Steve Copeland


2010-11 Jim Guthrie 2015-16 Vicki Blum
2011-12 Rick Darlington 2016-17  
2012-13 Amy Butler 2017-18  
2013-14 Tony Boothe 2018-19  
2014-15 Michael Anthony 2019-20  


If you have information that will help complete the record prior to 1967, please contact AMBA.

Committee chair page